Prestigious Captains of Sri Lanka

  • Added:
    May 14, 2013
  • Article Views:
  • Word Count:
Prestigious Captains of Sri Lanka Photo by Ram Kausik

Below is a list of the greatest captains of the Sri Lankan Cricket team, ranging from Duleep Mendis to Kumar Sangakkara:

• Bandula Warnapura: He is a right-handed opening batsman and a medium pace bowler. He was the captain of Sri Lanka’s first test match. Under his captaincy, Sri Lanka won an One Day International match. He contributed to the team’s victory by scoring more than one hundred and fifty runs.

• Duleep Mendis: He is a specialist batsman. He made his debut for the Sri Lanka cricket team in 1972. He has recorded a half century batting average during three One Day Internationals: 1983 Cricket World Cup, 1979 World Cup and the Pakistan tour in 1982.

• Somachandra de Silva: He was captain for the team for only two Test matches in 1983, in the absence of the regular captain Mendis. During his captaincy, he scored around 100 runs or more.

• Ranjan Senerath Madugalle: He has played with the Sri Lankan team for twenty one test matches and sixty three one day internationals while he has captained two test matches and thirteen One day Internationals out of these.

• Arjuna Ranatunga: He is a prolific cricketer and one of the best captains the Sri Lankan team has ever seen. Under his captaincy, the cricket team won the 1996 Cricket World Cup. He is a specialist batsman who is left handed and medium pace bowler. Presently he is a respected political member of the Parliament of Sri Lanka.

• Aravinda de Silva: He is regarded as one of the most elegant batsman of his time. He is also attributed with the honor of being the only batsman to score a century and take more than three wickets in the finals of a World Cup tournament.

• Hashan Prasantha Tillakaratne: Though he is a specialist batsman, he also doubles as a wicket keeper.

• Sanath Jayasuriya: He is regarded as an all rounder. He is the only player to amass more than 13,000 runs and also take more than 300 wickets in One Day Internationals. He was bestowed with the title ‘Most Valuable Player’ after the World Cup in 1996.

• Mahela Jayawardene: He is the current captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team. He is also a specialist batsman.

• Kumar Sangakkara: Kumar Sangakkara profile is described as one of the most sensible batsman in cricket history. His impressive statistics have earned him many an accolade.

Author's Profile

For more information about Kumar Sangakkara, Kumar Sangakkara profile and Sri Lanka cricket team. Please visit the official website.

Please Rate this Article
Poor Excellent