Greatest Tennis Players of India

  • Added:
    Feb 25, 2013
  • Article Views:
  • Word Count:
Greatest Tennis Players of India Photo by Ram Kausik

Tennis is a viable sport in India. After cricket, the only other sport to garner the people’s attention would be this particular racquet sport. In the last couple of decades or so, it’s importance in the global scale has affected India’s way of looking at Tennis. Talented shuttlers rose up one after another and fizzled and faded away in the same manner; but there are those who reached the pinnacle to be regarded as the very best who made it to the Indian Tennis history books. Here are a list of ten such players who remain the legendary icons of Tennis which includes the likes of Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi, Sania Mirza et al.

• Akhtar Ali:. He was a member of the Indian Davis Cup team from 1958 to 1964. He received the Arjuna Award in 2000 and Dronacharya award 2001.

• Gaurav Natekar: Besides being a seven time Indian National Tennis Champion, he was also the double gold medalist at the Hiroshima Asian Games in 1994. He has won the Arjuna award in 1996 for Tennis.

• Premjit Lall: He is a former professional tennis player who played on the India Davis Cup team from 1959 until 1973.  He won the Arjuna Award in 1967. Unfortunately he passed away in 2004.

• Ramesh Krishna: He is a legend in the South of India. He has won eight top-level singles titles spanning the course of his career. He amassed a prize money total of  USDollar1,263,130 in his career, He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1998.

• Ramanath Krishnan: He might be the oldest member of the list. He was one of the world’s leading players in the 1950s and 1960s. He was awarded the Arjuna award in 1961, the Padma Shri in 1962 and the Padma Bhushan in 1967.

• Sania Mirza: The only female tennis player in the list and for that particular reason took thye world by the storm in her debut. She became the first Indian to win a WTA Tour title of any kind.

• Rohan Bopanna: He is slowly making his way to the top, one title at a time. He is the winner of two ATP doubles titles.

• Mahesh Bhupathi:  He is regarded as the best doubles players in the world with 11 Grand Slam titles to his credit. He is the recipient of 2001’s Padma Shri award.

• Leander Paes: Leander Paes profile speaks for itself. He is regarded as the best tennis player in Inida. Leander Paes has three great sports honors to his credit- he Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, Padma Shri Award and the Arjuna Award.

Author's Profile

For more information about Leander Paes, Leander Paes profile and Sania Mirza. Please visit the official website.

Please Rate this Article
Poor Excellent